Bill of Rights

The Bill of Rights provides a list of civil rights that the federal government may not infringe upon (interfere with) and must protect. They are first ten amendments to the U.S. Constitution. One of the effects of the Fourteenth Amendment has been the extension of the Bill of Rights to each of the state governments. Many state governments also include rights not found in the U.S. Constitution.

« Back to Glossary Index

Leave a Reply