How Many Countries Are Federations?

Most of the world’s 197 recognized governments are unitary. At least 25 countries have federal systems.  Among these are Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Ethiopia, Germany, India, Malaysia, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Russia, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, the United States of America, and Venezuela.[i]  Together, these countries are home to 43 percent of the world’s population.

To learn more about the U.S. system of government and federalism, click here.

[i] See

Leave a Reply

Discover more from CFFAD - Center for Free, Fair and Accountable Democracy

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading

Scroll to Top